On Wednesday February 21st, the ribbon was cut followed by cheers from the student-athletes on their new wellness center. With the support of official sponsor Connecticut Orthopaedics, Southern Connecticut State University can now provide a comfortable environment for its student-athletes to rest and regroup in a location that is convenient to their training facilities. The primary space was equipped with a technology upgrade and is a great spot to study and work with learning specialists. The secondary space provides the Owls with an area to foster community with couches, a HD television, multiple gaming consoles, foosball table and refreshments. In addition, “The Owls Nest” is an area designed to enhance student athletes recovery, equipped with zero-gravity chairs and leg compression machines as well as a state-of-the-art massage chair.

Connecticut Orthopaedics CEO, Susan Bader said, ” We are thrilled to join the Owls family and I know that Dr. Jordan Gruskay and the rest of our CO team will provide exceptional care to their student-athletes. I think one of the most exciting things happening is beyond the sidelines with a true academic partnership. We are working diligently to create a pathway
to careers in health care for SCSU students on a campus-wide scale. This will include internship and clinical training programs as well as flexible job opportunities throughout our organization. Connecticut Orthopaedics currently has over 650 employees and we are pleased to be able to nurture these future healthcare professionals as they consider their choices for the future.”

Top Doctors are peer-nominated, and thoroughly vetted by a Castle Connolly physician-led research team. These doctors are best-in-class healthcare providers, embodying excellence in clinical care as well as interpersonal skills.


2023 Top Docs

Richard Bernstein, MD

David Cohen, MD FAAOS

Nicola Corbett, MD

John Daigneault, MD

Peter DeLuca, MD

Richard Diana, MD

Allen Ferrucci, MD

John Kelley, MD

John Marino, MD

Phillip Minotti, MD

Thomas Moran, MD

Alan Reznik, MD, FAAOS

Glenn Russo, MD

Patrick Ruwe, MD

James Spak, MD

Sanda Tomak, MD

Mark Wilchinsky, MD

James Yue, MD